Menu Close


Postal Code System and How it Evolved in Singapore

Postal Code System and How it Evolved in Singapore

We sometimes hear people still using the 2 digit postal system when we refer to certain locations in Singapore. For example district 8, 9 or 10. However, as the years go by, Singapore’s Postal System also evolved from a 2 digit postal system to a 6 digit postal system. This is why our postal codes in Singapore today are in 6 digits with the block number usually being the last few digits. You can read on to find out more about the postal system and how it evolved over the years.

2 Digit Postal System

Back in the year 1950, Singapore had 28 different postal districts. For each of the districts, a district number was assigned. For example, Tuas is within district 22 while Changi is within district 17.

4 Digit Postal System

Subsequently, in year 1979, a new four digit system was introduced. For the four digit postal system, the first two digits are the postal district while the last two digits are the postal sector.

6 Digit Postal System

Later in year 1995, the six digit postal system replaced the previous four digit postal system. Since then, every building has a unique postal code with the first two digits being the postal sector. For example, Tuas starts with 63xxxx.

The Postal District and Postal Sector

The table below shows the respective postal district, sector and general locations in Singapore as a guide.

Postal District and Sector Table Singapore

How it Evolved Over the Years

As the number of buildings grow in numbers over the years, it is necessary to have a postal system to accommodate the number of buildings which is also why we have a six digit postal system today. Deliveries around Singapore are also much easier these days as each building now has its own unique postal code.